What If Today…You Knew That Heaven Had a Plan For You?

“Everyone has his own specific vocation or mission in life; everyone must carry out a concrete assignment that demands fulfillment. Therein he cannot be replaced, nor can his life be repeated, thus, everyone’s task is unique as his specific opportunity to implement it.”~ Viktor E. Frankl

Do you know what you were born to do in the world?

I do.

A lifetime of experiences that seem disconnected and random make so much sense when looking backwards. But I walked forward into every one of them in faith.

I’m sure that each of us is here for a reason and is irreplaceable.

That makes me feel really happy.

Some people say I’m hard on myself and that not staying focused is normal because I “have a lot going on.” Truth? Doing what I was born to do “saves” me – gives me a reason to keep going when life appears to be full of dead ends. I feel infused with so much light and joy when I’m working on family history. It’s not an escape. It’s not a hobby. It’s a mission.

How do I know that, and how can you know when you’re on to something bigger than yourself but it also feels like second nature to you-  like you’ve stepped back on to a road that seems more than familiar- it feels like home?

I know because of how I feel. I feel like the conduit to Heaven opens up and direct communication and love flow both ways.

I know because I don’t need anyone to agree with me. I ‘m not trying to please anyone.

I do what I do because it feels like eating a good meal, one that you dream about, shop for, and enjoy with friends. It’s as necessary to my survival as food and water. When I stop researching my ancestors and writing their stories I feel fine until I start again and feel my drought stricken soul come to life, like cracked mud flats soaking in their long-awaited rain.

I know because when someone asks for help with their family history it feels like a team of wild horses pounding in my chest and I have to rein them in so as not to scare someone off with my passion.

I know because I talk to myself and I don’t care who’s listening when I’m researching someone’s life and they are being difficult, stubborn, or especially entertaining. My children tease me a lot and ask me what I’m talking about or if I’m talking to them. They are easily amused but are becoming very used to my clapping when I hit a goldmine of facts to add to a person’s story.

I know because  every part of my brain comes alive and my heart validates all of its thoughts. Family history is my drug of choice and I feel like a drug pusher when I ask someone to give it a try, knowing how easily one can get addicted.

Lastly, it feels like I knew this stuff before I was born- like I’ve spent my whole life collecting pieces of a puzzle with my name written all over it. And when I see all the pieces meld together to reveal the picture, I see my heart and Heaven’s smiling because I see how I fit in the world.

And I feel joy.

Wherever you are in the world, know that you matter. I’m thankful to be celebrating another Thanksgiving tomorrow. I hope yours is perfect.

Do me a favor. Listen to this song. I love it. And then, if you feel so inclined, answer some questions for me:

  • Do you know who you are for the world? How did you figure it out?
  • What are some of your gifts or talents that serve others and your soul simultaneously?
4 thoughts on “What If Today…You Knew That Heaven Had a Plan For You?

  1. I can’t say that I have an answer for the first question. Nor can I think of an answer for the second one, either.

    I enjoyed reading your post, though. I can’t say I have any idea how I fit into the world. It hasn’t even occurred to me to wonder, either. Perhaps one day I’ll search for some answers and let you know.

Leave a Reply

