What If Today…Your Gift Was Being Present?

“There isn’t any formula or method. You learn to love by loving- by paying attention and doing what thereby one discovers has to be done.”`~ Aldous Huxley

He crossed the street and headed towards my parked car. Our eyes met and in seconds he was on top of the stone wall that separated the sidewalk from the parking lot. I waved and smiled. He insisted that I roll down my window.So I did, and spent the next few minutes petting  him and soaking in his joy. For a moment nobody else existed. Just me and the dog.  I turned my attention to his owner and thanked him. He thanked me and moved on.

We connect in moments. Moments that come when they come and pass quietly and sometimes unnoticed.

Here are a couple of questions for you to ponder, as I have many times in my life.

While in a conversation do you watch for the next important person to walk through the door?

Do you start meetings and classes on time even if there’s only one person present or do you wait for late-comers to arrive?

Some people have a gift of being present with one person at a time.

The message they send is, “You matter. This moment is a gift. I’m honored to share it with you.”

Think about it for a second.

When I contemplate Wise men, shepherds, and strangers  kneeling, arms outstretched, offering  gifts to one who is too young to enjoy them, what is really exchanged? What is the hope?

Answer: the only thing that is ours to give that another person can receive.

A moment shared by two who know that the other matters.

The class or the meeting will start on time because the most important person is already there, and eyes, ears, and heart will stay focused on the one who’s talking.

Many gifts are exchanged at this time of year.

My question is,  how many moments of quiet and complete giving are we really enjoying?

That kind of gift, once received and shared, lasts forever.

6 thoughts on “What If Today…Your Gift Was Being Present?

  1. Betsy, I love the way you put things into context! YOU matter! Some day hopefully we’ll able to do the “listen” part instead of the “read and write” but ya know what? I love doing that with yo too!

    As Always ~*~..

  2. Me, too, Ann. You know what I realized tonight? I went to a Christmas dinner with a lot of people. Most times I’m good with that. Tonight I just wanted to be at home, in bed, all warm and comfortable and quiet! But my real point is that that’s how being online is to me now. It’s quiet. A break. So, I’m with you on the “read and write.” Phones are good, too. :)

Leave a Reply

