What If Today…You Relaxed?”

“We can be so demanding of what we think will make us happy

that we totally miss what really will.

For today just relax, and let IT find You!”

I like the lessons I learn from rubber bands. Today they remind me of how much time I spend thinking about how I can serve. How can I be useful today? When I’m serving I feel happy. I like to feel happy. I want to matter. Don’t you? Isn’t it a great feeling to know how you are uniquely needed in the world?

Sort of like a rubber band.

Rubber bands are meant to hold things together, to be stretched but not too far, and aimed and released at the right moment at an unsuspecting target.

A rubber band lying around isn’t fulfilling the measure of its creation. Right?

I feel like I’m too busy thinking about being a rubber band. I stared at the quote above when it came through my email from SimpleEncouragement and smiled. 

My daughter, Madeleine is having a party for her eleventh birthday tonight. We’re going to tie-dye t-shirts. We need rubber bands to wrap around strategic places on the shirts to create the designs.

So we’ll be in search of rubber bands. Madeleine said that she has rubber bands in her room. Hundreds of them. Unused.

I’m grateful for those rubber bands that are just hanging around relaxing, waiting to be used.

Today we can know that we are needed, wanted, and loved for who we are.

We do have a choice on how we fulfill the measure of our creation. We can’t always be running, searching, doing, and thinking.

Today we can relax. Today we can believe that is the most important thing we can do and resist being busy for the sake of being busy.

We can be available.

We can simply enjoy what it means to be human – our kind of human.

Imagine a day just enjoying who you are, feeling joy, being your own kind of lazy rubber band.

Try it. It’s harder to do than you think. It’s a challenge quieting the mind and finding that still place inside that knows that we are needed and are attracting something or someone that’s searching for us simply by radiating the joy of who we are.

Try it.

21 thoughts on “What If Today…You Relaxed?”

  1. LOVE this post! And wow, I needed to hear this. I’m always busying myself instead of just BEing. This came at a great time as I have a vacation coming up soon. I don’t have to feel guilty about sitting around. :)

  2. What a beautiful, simple way to express the importance of staying still long enough! Most likely we will find the happiness we seek, is already here in our BEing. So true is the comment “being busy for the sake of being busy.” Lovely. Thank you for sharing.

  3. Pingback: What If Today…You Relaxed?” |

  4. I enjoy quiet time but if I got to relax I have the quilt that would kicking. I feel like if I am lazy or something hehehe

    • I agree, Netster! But imagine the inspiration that just might settle down with you if you did! Sometimes I feel the most inspiration when I do the least to get some. LOL!

  5. I took a long weekend off last week and totally relaxed. And even if I can’t schedule a weekend off very often, I love your reminder from your post to learn to take a bit of time out every day. Thank you!

    • And if we can’t take a lot of time off, at least we can stop the expectations we hold ourselves to for a day or two…or a week…or a lifetime! LOL! I think I’d like to shift permanently into the relaxed rubber band mode; not in an irresponsible “devil may care”, but in a trusting way.
      Thanks for stopping by, Carolyn!!

  6. I cannot imagine that – just relaxing and not worrying or searching or doubting. I don’t believe anymore that what one does matters. All of this, the whole technical and social world is turning turning and evolving and what does it mean really? I wish I had gained competency in something other than tech. I like your blog, thanks for sharing your thoughts.

    • I wish I knew you better, Dotty. You are not alone in your struggle. Do you write? How do you use social media? You’ve been wonderful to be so vulnerable! I’d say you’ve become “competent” in being open and honest! I do agree that in a superficial way nothing we do matters…unless it brings us and someone else joy. My seven-year-old discovered a love for the Titanic and ALL things related! For his 4-yr-old brother it’s Martians, planets and outer space. Their oldest brother (23) thinks he has to figure out what to do with his life. I’m okay with that. And I’ve never held him to sticking to any one thing. Life is so interesting. We are so lucky to have the freedom to make so many choices along the way. I think success is found in the peace we feel today. When we can sit still and smile because we’re happy to be here, to be free to choose, and to know that all we really have control over is our attitude, that’s real joy. Don’t you think? I think you’re on the right track and I hope you come back to share your journey!!

    • I wonder if even retirees need help just “being” ? It’s so hard for me to just be and stop my thoughts from going into the future, planning, and creating.
      You make me laugh, Ann!

    • I’d love to crawl inside your brain, Kaarina to see how tat feels….or looks. I’m glad for you. I laughed so hard when I saw your picture of gloves standing up in the snow. It was such a strange image! HA!

    • I’m THE master of distraction, but the problem is that I don’t know I’m doing it all the time! HA! My goal is to stop projecting so much into the future. I’m a daydreamer through and through. And I don’t want to change that.But I have a tendency to criticize instead of enjoy myself. I’m consciously working on that so that.

Leave a Reply

