What If Today…You Stopped Being Such a Marshmallow?

 

“If you took one tenth the energy you put into complaining and applied it to solving the problem, you’d be surprised by how well things can work out…Complaining does not work as a strategy. We all have finite time and energy. Any time we spend whining is unlikely to help us achieve our goals. And it won’t make us happier.” ~Randy Pausch, The Last Lecture

And it’s a huge distraction from seeing what’s beautiful in the world.

Suffering on a personal or a global level begs for solutions; people to show up to alleviate it- to solve problems and to serve.

Do you join the crowd and complain, or do you get energized to find answers?

I do both, but not for long. Complaining about the obvious actually makes me tired- too drained emotionally to see through the fog of doubt, fear, anxiety, and hopelessness.

Complaining works only to expose the reality of a situation with all of it’s truths and fears, and then it reveals a person’s commitment to move forward regardless of obstacles. My mom calls it “committed complaining.”

In other words: after you are made aware of a problem and your part in it, what do you do? Do you get to work to solve it or do you really enjoy talking about it? I’m a process person. I need to talk about things until I understand them. Once I do, that’s it. I’m on to bigger and better things.

It is in our minds first that we sow seeds that blossom and grow to overshadow the weeds of thinking that don’t take us or anyone else anywhere but in circles.

“First comes thought; then organization of that thought, into ideas and plans. Then transformation of those plans into reality. The beginning, as you will observe, is in your imagination.” ~Napoleon Hill

I  find it fascinating to watch my thoughts and to listen to people’s conversations.

I love solving problems.

You?

 

6 thoughts on “What If Today…You Stopped Being Such a Marshmallow?

  1. I’m a doer..is that a word?? I don’t talk about it a lot, but I make lists! BIG lists..lol..I have a big eraser too. When all is solved and I throw away the list..it’s Yipee!

    As Always ~*~

  2. We have something very specific in common. I am also a process person and I also need to talk stuff out to “get it.” I totally understand where you are coming from here.

    “It is in our minds first that we sow seeds that blossom and grow to overshadow the weeds of thinking that don’t take us or anyone else anywhere but in circles.”

    Betsy, that is a brilliant sentence. Thank you for writing it.

    • HA! You know how crazy it would be to get two people in the same conversation who both need to talk things out! That image makes me laugh. Thanks for chiming in! Don’t you love the marshmllows? Have you ever seen the one with the screaming eggs? It’s really funny. Parodies exactly how crazy behavior is born fear, etc. You have to see it.
      Thanks for coming by, Ralph. Have a Happy Thanksgiving, or have one on us if you are in Canada! Right?

Leave a Reply

