What If Today…You Gave All That You Have?

“Everyone wants more than anything to be allowed into someone else’s most secret self. Everyone wants to allow someone into their most secret self. Everyone feels so alone inside that their deepest wish is for someone to know their secret being, because then they are alone no longer. Don’t we all long for this? ”~ Aiden Chambers, This Is All: The Pillow Book of Cordelia Kenn 

“I have something for you in my pocket,” Kenny said as he dug deep to pull something out of his pant’s pocket. With the start of a grin he tentatively approached me. I imagined a rock or a seashell or maybe a toy car of his was hidden in his clenched fist. He stopped inches from me, smiled a smile that melted my heart, and threw his arms around me as he whispered, “It’s a hug for you.” And off he ran, very happy with himself.

He started that tradition about a month ago. I don’t know where he got the idea, but every day now, sometimes a few times in one day, he says, “I have something in my pocket for you, Mommy.”

Kenny treasures his feelings and the good ones are the ones he wants to share the most.

But what’s really interesting is that he has been so misunderstood and his tender feelings have been hurt so much in the past year that sharing love for him has been difficult. But he found a way to give what he had in a way that he could.

Reminds me of a similar event that Christ witnessed almost 2,000 years ago at the temple in Jerusalem where offerings were being made:

“And there came a certain poor widow, and she threw in two mites, which make a farthing.

“And he called unto him his disciples, and saith unto them, Verily I say unto you, That this poor widow hath cast more in, than all they who cast into the treasury:

“For all they did cast of their abundance; but she of her want did cast in all that she had, even all her living.” ~Mark 12:42

Kenny has taught me a lot lately:

  • We must give what we want most with no expectation of the gift being returned.
  • We should dig deep and give gifts of value, the ones buried in our hearts –  the ones that last.
  • It’s hard to make the first move, but the humble and meek will always be the ones who lead out.
  • Become as a child.

Christmas and Hanukkah are upon us.

Just some thoughts about giving for you.

Do you have any?

 

6 thoughts on “What If Today…You Gave All That You Have?

  1. This is so wonderful, Betsy, and relevant, not only this time of year, but all year round, Sadly many of us forget that our neighbors, friends or family members, may need our help. Instead, we find it easier to remain stealth, in our own comfort zone. When we give, we must do it without the need for praise or recognition. In fact it should always be a quiet deed, followed up with prayer and thanksgiving to the Lord, who made it possible. We can only give from the heart, as you mentioned. I remember that feeling, that I am sure your little boy experiences now, when he pulls out a big hug for you. For me, I love to give and receive a smile. I tell my friends to try it out! Next time that you go to the grocery store, look someone in the eye and give them a big beaming smile. It is contagious and they can’t help but smile back! And it feels so nice. I love the widow in Mark 12. She always reminded me of my Grandma Costa, she was so like that. Okay, I am sorry to take up this much of your blog, however your story touched me.

    God Bless you and yours!

    ~Wayne 🙂

    • Wayne,

      Long replies are th best! I am very aware of people when I’m out and about and smile and strike up a conversation whenever I can because you never know if someone’s having a bad day or needs to talk. I figure if they’ve crossed my path I may as well find out why!
      Thank you for reading and commenting, Wayne. It meant a lot!

  2. Your story about Kenny warmed my heart and made me smile. How precious our children are! And your post reminds me of how much we can learn from them. They laugh alot, they enjoy the moment, and they forgive easily too.

Leave a Reply

