What If Today…You Found Yourself in the Doldrums?

“You weren’t thinking and you weren’t paying attention either. People who don’t pay attention often get stuck in the Doldrums.” ~Norton Juster, The Phantom Tollbooth

(DOLDRUMS explained, just in case :))

So what would you do? What if you woke up and got this creepy feeling that the wind had stopped and you were adrift in the sea of life? Would you feel guilty, at peace, anxious?

Don’t get me wrong. I have plenty to do and many things that interest me. But occasionally I go on automatic and I do everything I’m supposed to do and nothing that I want to do. Or I do what I want to do and forget to do what I’m HERE to do. (Between you and me, there are days when I don’t want to do what I’m supposed to do OR what I’m here to do!)

I have to admit that I am starting to love the Doldrums. Why? Because they give me space to be and to reflect on what’s important to me.

I find myself feeling like I’m floating and meandering through life, like a ship without a rudder, a sail, or a paddle and that is very freeing.

That is how I felt this morning. And I didn’t like it a first because I’d been so busy. Suddenly I had a lot of my chaos under control and I felt like I should be doing something. Every day is a gift. You know?

So, when I was brushing my teeth I smiled at the girl in the mirror. And she smiled back and said, “The Doldrums are cool. Aren’t they? You don’t have to do anything today. And  if you keep paddling and blowing on your sails you might head in the wrong direction. So trust that it’s this way for a reason. Maybe you need to accept that and do whatever…”

Maybe today is a day to pay attention to what’s going on around me and know that the wind will pick up whenever.

I can do that. Just live.

Floating and watching the clouds pass is right up my alley. 🙂

9 thoughts on “What If Today…You Found Yourself in the Doldrums?

    • I think I’m just getting sick….it’s rare and I can confuse it with being “off” for other reasons. Our bodies sure do know how to tell us to stop. Don’t they?

    • I thought about it being a mild depression, Bill. And as I reflected on the mourning process (for my dad), I realized that a lot of what is coming up for me is related to his death. It comes and hijacks my day unexpectedly and it takes me a while to remember that there were many years of having him needing me. Now that he doesn’t it has left me twiddling my thumbs sometimes. I guess that’s the nature of caregiving even if it’s not intense. When it’s over there’s a transition of getting used to spending your time and energy (and emotions) differently.
      But, I do my best to smile at it! That’s a huge help!

  1. Pingback: What If Today…You Found Youself in the Doldrums? | People Discovery

Leave a Reply

