I Often Go Walking

I often go walking in meadows of clover,
And I gather armfuls of blossoms of blue.
I gather the blossoms the whole meadow over;
Dear mother, all flowers remind me of you.

O mother, I give you my love with each flower
To give forth sweet fragrance a whole lifetime through;
For if I love blossoms and meadows and walking,
I learn how to love them, dear mother, from you.

Words: Phyllis Luch, 1937–1995. © 1969 IRI

I wake up every Mother’s Day feeling like I do every other day, but with one extra thought: how can I let my children know how grateful I am to be a mom? Their mom? I would love to turn the honoring of me back onto honoring them, because without them I wouldn’t have a “mother job.” I always want to have a big party!

I nurture and love whether I have children around or not. That’s what women do. It comes naturally even if we don’t think so. I never dreamed of having children. I had no desire or interest in that part of life. Now I have nine children and I found out that I can love deeply, I can live without sleep, I can put someone else’s needs first, and I can forgive and let go of control like I never thought I could, and my heart can love and love and love, always stretching to let more people in!

I love being a woman who’s capable of nurturing and loving my own children, and hope that my home is never empty of them – mine or others’ children. I’m grateful that I was given the opportunity in this life to have them, and never take for granted that gift, knowing that there are so many who don’t get that opportunity.

My mother taught me to love quiet, spirituality, to never hold a grudge, to believe in people, to see the best in everything, frogs, water, animals,  learning, studying, researching, hard work, good books, beautifully wrapped presents, men,  children, listening, to live frugally but richly, dirt, flowers, the ocean, moving furniture, saving money for a rainy day, good health, beauty, and ….

me!

My mother has influenced me greatly. As I “walk” through life I carry with me the greatest lesson anyone has ever taught me. She shared with me how she “got through” labor and delivery with no medication right before I had my first child: “I just sank into the bed. I didn’t fight the pain.” I don’t know if you hear what I heard, but I use that phrase all the time, for any kind of pain be it spiritual, emotional, or physical. I don’t fight it, I just sit with it until it’s ready to leave. And it always does, because it never really was a part of who I am. It was just an experience, teaching me more about who I am, now and always.

I love you, Mom, Allison, Brody, Lauren, Kelley, Kyle, Connor, Madeleine, Kenney and James, and every other child who comes to enjoy life with me!

That might be you!

Happy Mother’s Day

6 thoughts on “I Often Go Walking

      • You are welcome! It was so beautiful to read that I didn’t have the words to comment, however I wanted to share it with EVERYONE! Mother’s day can be a challenge for me, my mother and her mother are in Australia and my other grandmother passed away while I have been away. So I love to read the tributes and stories of other’s which only deepen my appreciation of the women in my life. Have a blessed day 🙂

Leave a Reply

