Good Morning, Sunshine!

“Those who bring sunshine into the lives of others cannot keep it from themselves.” ~James M. Barrie

“The strangest thing just happened, ” he said as I was transplanting the Morning Glories. “I was spraying the grass with the hose and a hummingbird came and drank from it for about a minute.”

What a precious gift. Simple occurences, unexpected and beautiful, are refreshing and almost magical.

This morning, like most mornings, I stopped at the gas station. It just so happened that my oldest son pulled up at the same time. He didn’t see me yet. It made me smile to see him. I carried that joy with me as I approached the door and a man held it open for me, letting me pass through, smiling and greeting me with a “Hello.”

“Good morning, Brodes!” I had to say it twice before he heard me. He grinned from ear to ear and said, “I always see you here in the morning.”

“I know,” I admitted.

We both waited at the check-out as a new young man was being trained, my son standing two people behind me.

“Did I do it right?” I asked as I swiped my card and waited for the transaction to be approved.

“You did, Sunshine. Have a good day!” said the young man’s trainer who stood off to the side of his trainee.

Simple occurence.

Unexpected.

Beautiful.

Refreshing.

Almost magical.

And one more….transformative.

I climbed into my car and headed home, walked in the front door, and smiled.

“Good morning, Sunshine!” I said to Kenny. “Rise and shine.”

My mom used to say that every morning, now that I think of it.

It is the most wonderful phrase in the world to me, and needs to be said more often. πŸ™‚

10 thoughts on “Good Morning, Sunshine!

    • I watch you, Kaarina. You are so in love with beauty. You always share the simple things like your blooming garden or freshly fallen snow. You are sunshine to so many people. Thanks for coming by. Have a fun one!

    • I was telling Kaarina (really just wondering) that I think I want a new name. That one! LOL! But what if someone used it with an angry tone of voice? What then? Hey, maybe they would never get mad because your name would make them smile! What a plan! But I think it costs too much. And then, can you imagine having to remind people that your new name was Sunshine in an irritated voice? Or maybe you’d never get upset again because you were Sunshine? Too funny!

  1. It has been a busy day at work. When the last customer headed out a few minutes ago, I decided to treat myself to a quick blog post. I’m glad I chose yours. You spread a little sunshine my way, which is in Iowa, and we’ve had mostly clouds and rain of late, so it is much appreciated.

    • Well, you are very welcome, Brian! And thanks for spreading even more my way! It’s busy here, too – barely time to read at all. Thanks for choosing mine to stop at. Means a lot! Have a great one. πŸ™‚

  2. Thank you. This post was simply beautiful. I used to wake up my now grown and married girls with a boisterous “rise and shine sunshine!” I got that from my mom. Thanks for surfacing a great memory.

Leave a Reply

