Being Present for Presents

“There are No real coincidences in life for those with faith strong enough to recognize coincidences for what they really are: intricate pieces of the providential design God created for each of our lives” ~Delia Parr

 

My mom’s car rolled into a tree and has been in the car shop for over a week.

“You’re not going to like this,” she said on the other end of the phone right after it happened. Maybe she was referring to my new and temporary roll as chaffeur? 

Actually, I like it very much. I’ve had fun. I think she has, too.

Have you ever read the story of Eeyore’s birthday in the Winnie the Pooh book? 

Here’s the story in a nutshell (and here’s the whole story if you’re so inclined to read it. HERE):

Pooh eats the honey that he was going to give Eeyore as a present, but gives him the empty pot nevertheless.

Piglet is running with the balloon he has for Eeyore, trips and pops it, but gives him the popped balloon anyways.

Eeyore, much to their surprise, isn’t dismayed at all, but is delighted to sit in front of the “Useful Pot” from Pooh, sticking the broken balloon from Piglet into it and pulling it out over and over again. 

That is my favorite story for many reasons. The image of Piglet exploding the balloon is one of them. But another image I have in my mind that makes me smile is Eeyore. Pooh and Piglet expect him to be really bummed about his presents. But they turn out to be perfect. And he’s happy.

Pooh just had to tell Eeyore that the empty pot wasn’t just a pot before Eeyore could make the mental shift. 

Eeyore was left with two gifts that fit perfectly together. But both seemed to be random “accidents”:

Pooh’s hungry belly called.

Piglet’s hurrying popped the balloon, leaving the rubber remains.

Those gifts were created by “accidents.” Actually, they were uncovered. They were there all the time, but needed a little tweaking. Pooh, always the one to “go with the flow” was the one to change direction in what could have been seen as a dismal situation.

I’ve done things, met people and shared moments with my mom that I wouldn’t have had if her car hadn’t rolled into the tree. I felt very much “in the flow” this week. Sure, we’re both struggling to match work schedules and to overcome mental and physical fatigue. But the stories that keep showing up are so energizing. 

Who knows what’ll happen today? It’s raining and blowing hard. Again.

Perhaps it’s a day to find the Pooh Within? I hope you do. It’s fun.

 

I’ll leave you with this thought I found from Rhonda Byrne:

“You are receiving thousands of messages from the Universe every single day. Learn to become aware of this communication from the Universe, who is speaking to you and guiding you in every moment. There are no accidents and no coincidences. Every sign you notice, every word you hear spoken, every color, every scent, every sound, every event and situation is the Universe speaking to you, and you are the only one who knows their relevance to you, and what the communication is saying.
Use your eyes to see! Use your ears to listen! Use all of your senses, because you are receiving communication through them all!”
 
 

 

 

6 thoughts on “Being Present for Presents

  1. You make my day, Betsy! I had a bad night following a row with my mom who cannot come to terms with old age and takes it out on me. And here you offer my this great story – thank you so much!

    • I’m reading a great book: “Fate and Destiny” by Michael Meade. He speaks to my heart when he talks about elders vs. elderly. It’s hard to deal with our aging out of context- our role as “elders” in society. Letting go of what we do to embrace who we are…quite the challenge it is! Hugs to you, Barbara…from a million others facing those same challenges!

  2. Sometimes it’s hard to see the good in an incident that presents initially as bad, but I do agree that everything does happen for a purpose. I love how you highlight being in tune with our intuition and looking for the fun. Enjoy your day!

    • When I’m tired I find it very hard to see the good. I know it’s important and influences everyone around us, but it’s not always as easy as it sounds. So, I forgive myself when that happens and then write about the lesson I learned! LOL!

  3. Loved this! Ah Ancient Mothers..yes I’m alot older than you so…..but what a joy they can be if you choose to look at it as you say..”a present”

    As Always ~*~

Leave a Reply

