One of a Kind ~

“Wouldn’t it be powerful if you fell in love with yourself so deeply that you would do just about anything if you knew it would make you happy? This is precisely how much life loves you and wants you to nurture yourself. The deeper you love yourself, the more the universe will affirm your worth. Then you can enjoy a lifelong love affair that brings you the richest fulfillment from inside out. ~Alan Cohen

“It’s a story,” I tried to explain. “Pink shag is part of its story.”

Since I met my little car (read about it here: Enthusiasm…God Within Us), I’ve been increasingly aware that most of us like to feel safe and accepted. And we do things, make choices, at the cost of the world never enjoying us completely, and never connecting to those who actually love us for who and how we are when we’re fully alive, expressing all of our unique qualities and gifts. We’d rather feel safe with approval than risk rejection and/or loneliness or ridicule that is possible when on the joyful journey of self-expression.

Pink shag steering wheel and seat covers don’t make most men feel safe.

So, for my birthday I got zebra steering wheel and seat covers, a zebra towel, and a zebra travel cup. I laughed when I opened them and was extremely grateful for the thoughtfulness.

But they don’t belong in my car. Pink shag does. My heart knows it. You see, there were only two choices in the store: zebra print or pink shag….or nothing. I can’t tell you why, but the pink shag makes me laugh and feel full of life. It’s a perfect fit. But the zebra print is gender neutral.

But I’m a girl.

And it’s my car. My very first car. One that I waited for forever. I have a responsibility to it to give it the time of its life. Right? We’re kindred spirits.

And it deserves pink shag.

Do you understand?

Why do we do that? Why do we homogenize our desires, our personalities, our lives and risk never sharing with the world who we really are?

“You don’t like roses?” Kenny asked when I told him we had one last thing to do before we left the store….smell the carnations. I guess everyone likes roses. He was dumbfounded and perplexed. They smell okay. But you put me in a field of carnations and I’ll be lost in the outer space of sensory pleasure with no sense of time beckoning me home! Same with diamonds and other jewels. Can’t stand them. But onyx and pearls? For some reason they speak to me. I like talking about and to dead people (ancestors), and that makes a lot of people uncomfortable and emotionally step aside (it makes me laugh!). These are some of the things that make up who I am. I can’t deny them and never apologize for them.

I just smell carnations when I’m at the store, don’t wear much jewelry, and “do” family history among many other things depending on the mood of the day.

One more thing. When I bought my car I didn’t notice that the antenna was missing (It’s a used car), so it only played one radio station. The music was okay, but I couldn’t connect to it.

So, I got an antenna, screwed it in, and changed the station, and Voila! – music that makes me smile! It was there all along, out in the universe just waiting for an antenna to catch the radio waves  that would complete my car-driving experience.

Such is life and relationships.

And so it is with pink shag and antennas…

Our #1 responsibility is to show up as the “one of a kind” that we are, and then to catch the “waves” of others who are on the same frequency as we are – those whose music makes our hearts sing.

Easy.

2 thoughts on “One of a Kind ~

  1. Oh Betsy you made me laugh..What a great way to start my day! You go get that Pink Shag Girl!!!! I can’t see you with Zebra.
    It has to be YOU!

    As Always

    ~*~

Leave a Reply

