You’re Complete

“Everything you need you already have. You are complete right now, you are a whole, total person, not an apprentice person on the way to someplace else. Your completeness must be understood by you and experienced in your thoughts as your own personal reality.”

Beverly Sills

 

Trees were one of my earliest teachers, and continue to reveal patterns of life when I slow down long enough to reflect. Today I  want to share a teeny thought about Autumn leaves because they’re on my mind. I see them every day and listen to how much people enjoy them.

Brightly colored leaves are evidence to me of our perfection – our wholeness, The colors – reds, oranges, purples, and yellows – were there from the beginning of the leaf’s life. Nothing was added to make them appear. Actually, and of course you already know this, the cessation of chlorophyll production allows the hidden colors in the leaf to come out from their comfortable and secret hiding places. So, something was actually taken away to reveal their beauty.

Life is like that to me – I come to Earth complete and spend my whole life, however long or short, remembering the truths I knew before I came, learning how to live those truths as I remember them in a body and a world full of people that bring their own unique challenges.

I love that.

I’m in the Autumn of my life.

I’ve experienced the tender and simple stage of Spring where everything is new and exciting, green and fresh, where I’ve lived very close to truth because of my innocence and openness. I’ve passed through Summer where I’ve planted, and for the most part spent a lot of time nurturing and weeding on my hands and knees in the beating sun, wind, and rain.  During that phase of my life I forgot who I was, on and off, and wrestled with the distractions that having a body can bring. Life at that time was lived “outside” of me, thinking about and caring for other people, much like a large oak tree whose expanse of leaves shades and protects the “small” from the elements.

And now it’s Autumn –  a time of full expression of my spirit, where every part of me is enjoyed openly and without fear, allowing passersby the privilege of a vicarious joy that emanates effortlessly.

I’m not becoming anything new or better. I’m not achieving any form of perfection. I came to this world complete, but unexpressed in physical form, just like the seed of a sunflower is complete but unexpressed until it is put in the earth and nourished with sunlight and rain. I came to work out how to live as a complete being in a body subject to weakness and frailties, and elements that try my stamina and belief that I’m okay. What’s still being worked out is the ongoing struggle between body and spirit to stay true to the truth and not forget to what end I’m expressing what’s inside – to make manifest the love of God that is inside of me – the joy that comes from living the truth as my heart knows and understands it.

Do I remember who I am and why I’m here? Do you?

Have you embraced the different seasons of your life?

Are you fully expressed as YOU so that when the cold air of Winter settles in you have colorful memories of every phase of your life? Can you say that you are ready to let go as a leaf must at the end of Autumn, and fall to the ground becoming rich and life-giving mulch for future generations?

I’ll take another walk today as I do almost every day. I’ll look at the leaves along my way as I do the people who cross my path and hope that they, like the vibrant Autumn leaves, are finding it just as effortless as they do to show who they really are and what they really love.

…because it’s all there inside, waiting to be uncovered and expressed.

(Hitting “publish” because the printer just called and I’m off to pick up my newest piece of art! Have a good one!)

7 thoughts on “You’re Complete

  1. Pingback: What If Today...

  2. Hi Betsy,

    The answer is “No,” I’m not happy about reaching the autumn of my life. I have a very hard time not wishing I had done this or that differently.

    I also hate that my children are almost grown and will soon leave my home. That makes me cry even now as I write about it hear. I am dabbing a tear.

    I have yet to learn how to come to grips with either of these things…

    Thank God for Jenny

  3. Betsy,
    Sometimes, not often enough, but sometimes, I feel as if I am ready. There is no fair or unfair, there is only the acceptance of purpose. Autumn has always been my favorite time of the year, my whole life. Little did I know that my own Autumn would never be long enough.

    • It is what it is, and we enjoy whatever we have time to enjoy, right? Every day could be our last or first, whichever way we choose to experience it. The one thing I’ve learned this year is that joy is a choice…and I hope that I always choose it. I hope your Autumn is long and fruitful, Amber-Lee!

  4. Tender and profound words from a wise soul…so few people really think about what they are doing in life. They are too busy doing the “stuff” of life. I enjoy your unique perspective on putting life’s challenges aside at times to look for real meaning…very inspiring…Thank you…

Leave a Reply

